The books of Harry Potter have become a worldwide classic. Originally meant to be one large book, it was ultimately release in seven installments.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

The first book in the series of seven, readers meet Harry Potter and learn of his young life. Orphaned at 15 months, Harry grew up in an unloving home with his Aunt and Uncle and a cousin who torments him. On his 11th birthday, he discovers he is a wizard and expected at Hogwarts Schools of Witchcraft Wizardry. He leaves the abusive home of his relatives and goes with a giant named Hagrid who escorts him to Hogwarts. He meets Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, two other first-year students on the train to school and they become fast friends. At school, they are sorted into residential houses via the Sorting Hat, and the school year gets underway. Harry is introduced to Professor Snape and other teachers and quickly realizes not all wizards can be trusted and the wizarding world isn’t always safe as he discovers the truth about himself, his past, and the evil Voldemort who is bent on his destruction.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

House-elf Dobby visits Harry during his school break and warns him not to return to Hogwarts. Harry ignores his warning and returns to school after vacation. During their second year of school, Harry, Ron, and Hermione have a run in with a ghostly entity that is haunting the halls of Hogwarts leaving all who come in contact with it paralyzed, seemingly fulfilling an ancient prophecy. Muggle-born students are under attack and bloody messages appear on the corridor walls. The three friends must solve the mystery and save their fellow students.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Harry runs away from home before his third year at Hogwarts with the help of some magic and fears being penalized when he returns. Bigger problems await, however, when he learns Voldemort’s evil companion, Sirius Black, has escaped Azkaban Prison and has vowed to kill him. When Dementors are charged with guarding the gates of Hogwarts, they have a mysteriously detrimental effect on Harry. As he and his friends battle Sirius and reveal the mystery behind the Dementors, Harry learns more about who he is and what his fate will be.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry spends the summer before his fourth year at Hogwarts with his friends. They go to watch the Quidditch World Cup Final that ends with Voldemort’s minions terrorizing the crowd. At school, the Goblet of Fire chooses Harry as an unprecedented fourth player in Hogwarts Triwizard Tournament, a magic competition between the three best-known schools of magic – Hogwarts, Beauxbatons and Durmstrang. Harry must successfully perform three dangerous tasks that change the course of his life. All the while, Rita Skeeter, a journalist, is reporting lies and scandal about Hogwarts and the three friends.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

After spending the summer with his dreaded relatives, Harry and Headmaster Dumbledore attempt to convince the rest of the school that Voldemort has returned to exact his revenge. Harry is suffering horribly vivid nightmares and fears they have a terrible meaning. The Ministry of Magic appoints Dolores Umbridge as the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, and she and Harry do not get along because she doesn’t believe in Voldemort’s return. Harry, Ron, and Hermione start their own club to prepare for battle with Voldemort and his army. They are caught, and Dumbledore takes the blame, forcing him into hiding. Harry’s connection to the order of the Phoenix is revealed along with his destiny to fight Voldemort another day.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Harry begins his sixth year at Hogwarts with the discovery of an old book marked Property of the Half-Blood Prince that he believes is a used potions textbook. He uses it to excel in potions class. Snape vows to help Draco Malfoy complete a deadly mission for Voldemort. Harry has suspicions Draco is a Death Eater although Hermione and Ron do not. Dumbledore teaches Harry about Voldemort’s past in preparation for a prophesied battle. Ron and Hermione become deeper involved after quick relationships with others. Harry develops deeper feelings for Ginny Weasley but breaks up with her for fear she will be in too much danger. Draco and Snape fight Dumbledore with deadly results.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Ron, Harry, and Hermione set out to destroy Voldemort by finding the horcruxes in which he’s hidden parts of his soul. Little do they know, Voldemort has gained secret control of the Ministry of Magic. Ron’s brother Bill is married but Voldemort and the Death Eaters crash the reception. Discovering the location of one of the horcruxes, they steal it, but its evil influence causes them to bicker and fight. Dumbledore’s youth and past are revealed to the friends. They find Godric Gryffindor’s sword and use it to destroy the horcrux they found. They are kidnapped and taken to Malfoy manner where they are tortured for information on Godric’s sword. Harry has a vision that warns him that Voldemort knows of his plan, but it also shows him the location of another horcrux. Hogwarts goes into battle mode to protect Harry from evil forces as he searches for the horcrux. Harry and Voldemort fight over the Elder Wand and the mysterious power it has for the right person. This final book of the series ends with the destruction of evil and the three friends growing up to send their own children off to a much safer Hogwarts.